top of page
Search

OVERALL REFLECTION AND CRITICAL DISCUSSION OF KHUN AND HEIN

OVERALL REFLECTION AND CRITICAL DISCUSSION OF KHUN AND HEIN

Overall I feel that I have learnt so much and grown as an educator this past semester. I do have to say that I am not happy that I left a lot of my projects and blogs to the last minute due to falling behind but as my first semester of my Masters Degree I think thats acceptable as I had no idea how this was run and very overwhelmed for a lot of it. From reading Khun and Hein and rewatching a few of the lectures the general Philosophy of teaching the other 80% while still catering to that 10% was very clear throughout the 2 subjects. Within tech we went through so many different projects and experiences that depending on experience and groups showed a variety of levels and this would be reflected in schools if done there.

I have also come to a decision regarding Ableton Live and my thoughts on it. At the start I hated using it and wanted to go back to my comfort zone of logic but now I have had a few experiences with it and seen what it can do I have come to the following conclusion that the following softwares are what I would use within the classroom;

Ableton Live - I do not like it for recording purposes but for Musical Directing, Live Performances and using it for lopping its my top software.

Logic Pro X - I'm an apple girl and learnt on logic so for me this is always going to be home and to be honest, it is my favourite for producing and writing songs, especially in film soundtracks as it has the film features and is a clearer layout.

Final Cut Pro - It is confusing at first but once you get your head around it, it becomes really easy. But in a school situation iMovie is probably a better route to go.

NoteFlight - Amazing for Copyright and sharing of scores

Soundtrap - It is really good as an educational tool as it has teacher and student sections where teachers can check in on students and it is available on all devices and mediums so there is no need for Microsoft vs Apple etc.

LaunchPad - Amazing for year 7 and other students that don't have formal music training and freak out with MIDI etc. By the use of sampling and looping composition is made easy.

Sibelius - By far my favourite notation software and honestly I am still learning how to use it after 4 years of it... It is really good for years 9-12 as it is a bit more complex than others.

MuseScore - Perfect for year 7-8. Also it is free! Musescore notation and Musescore itself is really good for accessing free sheet music and creating your own too.

Ableton Learning Music/Playground - Definitely will be using within the classroom. Not so much the learning area but definitely the playground!


Now onto the projects.....

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page