top of page
Search

CULTURAL DIVERSITY AND TEACHER IDENTITY



If I were a racist, I'd teach children that talking about music means, Texture, timbre and tempo. If you can't use these words, you're not a musician. If I were a racist, I'd teach reggae music and Bob Marley, 'Stir It Up', but never 'War'. I might even mention marijuana. If I were a racist, I'd insist that all music was taught from notation, Removing all the nuances That paper could ever express. If I were a racist, I'd teach 'African' drumming. Because of course, Africa is a country. If I were a racist, I'd teach that the Great Composers were Mozart, Beethoven, Haydn and Bach, Not Miles Davis, Florence Price, Alice Coltrane and J Dilla.

If I were a racist, I'd make sure that Gospel, Blues and Jazz, We're always taught, As music created by slaves. If I were a racist, I'd call all non-white music 'World Music' After all, it's them and us.

If I were a racist, I'd ignore that Mozart, Beethoven, Haydn, Bach And the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Happened at the same time. If I were a racist, I'd make sure that violins and pianos Were seen as more important, Than Steel pans, tablas and digeridoos. If I were a racist, I'd teach 'African' songs, Without knowing what they mean, Or where they were really from. If I were a racist, I'd standardise everything – You're either in tune, Or you're out. Literally.

If I were a racist, I'd have posters of me on the walls and in the books. No black or brown faces, Just my own. If I were a racist, I'd make you think including one brown face, Would be enough. Diversity. Inclusion. If I were a racist, I'd be fine with all-white exam boards, And all white teaching staff, And study all white musicians. If I were a racist, I would insist that children learn western music notation, Forgetting that many civilisations, Flourished without it for centuries. If I were a racist, I'd put up black squares, And messages about standing together. Then never invest in anti-racism training for my staff. If I were a racist, I wouldn't address outdated policies Or really let black and brown people feel safe enough to speak on their experiences. If I were a racist, I'd know that, Even though the notes may be black, The spaces would remain white. #DecoloniseMusicEd _________________________________________________________


Unfortunately, I was away this week in QLD for a family event so I missed this lecture but I did do the pre-work (see below) and engage with the readings and would have watched a recording if there was one so instead I am going to give my view on wy Music Teacher Identity so far and how I believe we as the next generation can make a difference in education.


We were asked by Rachel to write about an encounter with music that we believed shaped us and our music so I wrote this; Waterloo by ABBA is the first song that I remember singing and dancing to with the strongest memory occurring at 3 years old when I begged my parents to get up at karaoke night on our Hawaii Cruise (in front of most of the ship) and belt it out no words or help at all!! Due to my hair, confidence, and size, everyone called me Shirley Temple for the rest of the holiday! This song was introduced to me by my parents who adore ABBA, and a lot of their music (the 70s and 80s) shapes my music tastes today. I don’t think it really connects to my experience of music education as most of it came from my mother (Music Teacher and Registered Music Therapist) and my year 7-12 High School Music Teachers, but it does influence my music taste and ‘vibe’. I believe that it reflects my personality and outgoing nature that I want to bring into the classroom. Again as I didn't attend the lecture and there was no recording I don't know the context of this or how it was sued but I assume that it related to how our experience of music is seen within our teaching, resources and song choices etc.


Now back to the topic of decolonising music education. This needs to be done and it needs to be done yesterday. The syllabus we are working with is from 2003 and I can say that throughout my entire education (not just music) the only real "cultural" thing we had was an African Drumming workshop in year 8. Going away from school though I was lucky, my Nan was a part of an African and Argentinian Drumming Group and well I was in a Steel Pan Band. Being exposed to 3 different cultures and especially African Drumming which is vital to all music really helped in developing who I am today and how I look at music. I was also really lucky in my undergraduate degree have studied 'Music of all Cultures' where we travelled around the world and not only heard music from every inch of the world but also had the opportunity to compose and research one particular culture (in my case Brazil and Samba was my draw). But one thing I have never had much experience or exposure to is First Nations and Torres Strait Islander Music.


This absolutely baffles me! We live in Australia yet focusing on the world rather than the amazing music and traditions of our first nations people? When reading 'Marginalization in Music Education - Introduction' The main point that stuck out to me was to adopt culturally responsive pedagogies along with strategies like early intervention, better training for both current and ITE and finally work together to expand the pedagogies to include both modern and culturally accurate resources, backgrounds and most importantly music! By doing this not only are we changing the classroom but eventually these so-called "other cultures" (which is a horrible name by the way) will be integrated into society without even thinking about it.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page